9th International Conference on Materials for Advanced Technologies

ICMAT 2017 | 18 - 23 June 2017 | Suntec Singapore

Symposium BB

Stimuli Sensitive and Responsive Polymer Biomaterials

Category: Polymers/Biomaterials


Nanyang Technological University, Singapore


Harm-Anton KLOK
EPFL, Switzerland

Rowan University, USA

Koon Gee NEOH
National University of Singapore, Singapore


Asst. Prof. Terry STEELE
Nanyang Technological University
Email: wjsteele@ntu.edu.sg



Symposium Scope

This symposium will aim to bring together diverse laboratories and industries with platform technologies towards international collaboration required for the multidisciplinary design of future biomaterials and therapeutic materials.

Development of next generation biomaterial medical devices need to incorporate components of sensing, feedback, and therapeutic action that allow a response appropriate to local pathological or physiological environments.

To advance the field of implants and ‘smart’ polymers, it is no longer accepted that static biomaterials are independent of their local environment, but must respond dynamically to host stimuli or through activation by external forces e.g voltage, magnetic, photo, thermal, etc.

Topics to be covered, include but not limited to:

  • Advances in in situ activated drug delivery and therapeutic drug depot devices
  • Bioadhesives and emerging methods of tissue fixation
  • Stimuli sensitive soft materials and hydrogels
  • Dynamic recognition sites and biosensor-based biomaterials
  • Conductive hydrogels and thin films
  • Polymer Interfaces: Design, Structure, and Applications
  • Antimicrobial polymers for implants and personal care applications
  • Organic/inorganic hybrid biomaterials


Proceedings Publication

Selected papers presented in this symposium will be published in a special issue of “Biomacromolecules“.

Henrik BIRKEDAL, Aarhus University, Denmark
Insung S. CHOI, Korea Advanced Institute of Science and Technology, South Korea
Namita Roy CHOUDHURY, University of Adelaide, Australia
Costantino CRETON, ESPCI ParisTech, France
Andrew DOVE, University of Warwick, UK
Marc A. GAUTHIER, Institut National de la Recherche Scientifique, Canada
Julien GAUTROT, University of London, UK
J. Justin GOODING, The University of New South Wales, Australia
Subash JONNALAGADDA, Rowan University, USA
Bruce LEE, Michigan Technological University, USA
Gustavo MOURA-LETTS, Rowan University, USA
Erik REIMHULT, University of Natural Resources and Life Sciences, Austria
André STUDART, Eidgenössische Technische Hochschule Zürich , Switzerland
Jadranka TRAVAS-SEJDIC, University of Auckland, New Zealand
G. Julius VANCSO, University of Twente, The Netherlands
Fiorenzo VETRONE, INRS Universite De Recherche, Canada
Wenxin WANG, University College of Dublin, Ireland


Symposium Supporters

Avante Pharmaceuticals
Brilliant Light Power Inc.
Channel Therapeutics Inc.
Douglas Pharma US Inc.
Natco Pharma Limited
Soma Enterprises P. A.