9th International Conference on Materials for Advanced Technologies

ICMAT 2017 | 18 - 23 June 2017 | Suntec Singapore

Symposium D

Advanced Batteries for Sustainable Technologies

Category: Energy & Energy Storage


Stefan ADAMS
National University of Singapore, Singapore

National University of Singapore, Singapore


Haoshen ZHOU
National Inst. of Advanced Industrial Science and Technology, Japan

University of Calgary, Canada


Assoc. Prof. Stefan ADAMS
National University of Singapore
Email: mseasn@nus.edu.sg


Symposium Scope

The symposium will cover the latest applied research outcome on advanced electrochemical energy storage materials and devices as well as fundamental understanding of the processes controlling their performance. Besides advances in currently leading storage technologies a major focus will be on systems that have the potential to overcome current bottlenecks in energy storage for e-mobility and grid support.

The meeting will thus cover a comprehensive range of topics relating to battery science and technology including, but not limited to:

  • Anode and cathode systems
  • Electrode materials and composites with tailored nanostructures
  • Electrode/electrolyte interface phenomena
  • Liquid electrolytes and ionic liquids
  • Inorganic, polymeric and hybrid solid electrolytes
  • Lithium- and sodium-ion batteries
  • Low cost high performance batteries for utility support
  • High energy density and high rate performance storage systems for e-mobility
  • Metal Air Batteries
  • Redox flow battery systems
  • Lithium and sodium sulfur batteries
  • Magnesium- and Aluminium-based batteries
  • Aqueous high energy battery systems
  • High safety all solid state battery systems
  • Devices with integrated energy storage functionality
  • Safety, reliability, system design and engineering
  • Performance monitoring, control and validation


Proceedings Publication

Papers reviewed and presented at this symposium will be published in Procedia Engineering by Elsevier.

Prabeer BARPANDA, Indian Institute of Science, India
Aninda BHATTACHARYYA, Indian Institute of Science, India
Peter BRUCE, University of Oxford, UK
Mickael DOLLE, Universite de Montreal, Canada
Zaiping GUO, University of Wollongong, Australia
Nobuyuki IMANISHI, Mie University, Japan
Yinzhu JIANG, Zhejiang University, China
Kisuk KANG, Seoul National University, South Korea
Arumugam MANTHIRAM, University of Texas at San Antonio, USA
Sebastien MARTINET, CEA Grenoble, France
Philippe MOREAU, IMN Institut des Materiaux Jean Rouxel France
Hyacinthe RANDRIAMAHAZAKA, Université Sorbonne Paris Cité, France
Neeraj SHARMA, UNSW, Australia
Anton VAN DER VEN, University of California Santa Barabara, USA
Virginie VIALLET, Université de Picardie Jules Verne, France
Zhaoyin WEN, Shanghi Institute of Ceramics, CAS, China
Yuping WU, Nanjing Tech University, China
Yuki YAMADA, The University of Tokyo, Japan
Masatomo YASHIMA, Tokyo Institute of Technology, Japan
Rachid YAZAMI, Nanyang Technological University, Singapore
Qiang ZHANG, Tsinghua University, China
Haoshen ZHOU, National Institute of Advanced Industrial Science and Technology, Japan