9th International Conference on Materials for Advanced Technologies

ICMAT 2017 | 18 - 23 June 2017 | Suntec Singapore

Symposium DD

Advanced Materials for Thermoelectrics

Category: Energy & Energy Storage


Kedar HIPPALGAONKAR Institute of Materials Research & Engineering, A*STAR, Singapore


Jian Wei XU
Institute of Materials Research & Engineering, A*STAR, Singapore

Shuo-Wang YANG
Institute of Materials Research & Engineering, A*STAR, Singapore

Jeffrey URBAN
Lawrence Berkeley National Lab, USA

Wenqing ZHANG
Shanghai University, China


Institute of Materials Research & Engineering, A*STAR,
Email: kedarh@imre.a-star.edu.sg



Symposium Scope

1. Thermoelectric Materials Design, Synthesis and preparation (conjugated polymers, inorganic-organic hybrids, nanocrystal arrays, quantum dots, nanowires, nanocomposites)

2. Thermoelectric Materials Characterization (Seebeck Coefficient, Thermal Conductivity – inplane and crossplane, Bulk thermoelectric coefficients, Thermoelectric Powerfactor, ZT)

3. Thermoelectric Concepts

  • Band Structure optimization in inorganic materials
  • Aligned conducting polymers and their properties
  • Structure-Property relations in thermoelectric materials
  • Phonon Engineering to reduce thermal conductivity


4. New Physical Phenomenon

  • Energy-dependent scattering in hybrid materials
  • Multivalley degeneracy to enhance powerfactor
  • Novel ways to enhance Seebeck coefficient of polymers
  • Design strategies for multifunctional thermoelectrics


5. Novel Applications

  • Thin film thermoelectrics
  • Flexible & Wearable Electronics
  • Next Generation low-cost, high efficiency devices


Proceedings Publication

This symposium will NOT be publishing any proceedings.

Kanishka BISWAS, Jawaharlal Nehru Centre for Advanced Scientific Research, India
Xavier CRISPIN, Linkoping University, Sweden
Jiaqing HE, Southern University of Science and Technology, China
Woochul KIM, Yonsei University, South Korea
Takao MORI, National Institute for Materials Science, Japan
Khuong Phuong ONG, Institute of High Performance Computing, A*STAR, Singapore
Ganapathi RAMANATH, Rensselaer Polytechnic Institute, USA
Jayakanth RAVICHANDRAN, University of Southern California, USA
Zhifeng REN, University of Houston, USA
Xun SHI, Shanghai Institute of Ceramics, CAS, China
Junichiro SHIOMI, The University of Tokyo, Japan
David SINGH, University of Missouri, USA
Jeffrey SNYDER, Northwestern University, USA
Ajay SONI, Indian Institute of Technology, Mandi, India
John TSE, University of Saskatchewan, Canada
Alex YAN, Nanyang Technological University, Singapore
Jiong YANG, Shanghai University, China
Teng YANG, Shengyang National Laboratory for Materials Science, China
Xiaoyuan ZHOU, Chongqing University, China