9th International Conference on Materials for Advanced Technologies

ICMAT 2017 | 18 - 23 June 2017 | Suntec Singapore

Symposium T

The Third International Symposium on
Aggregation Induced Emission: Materials, Mechanisms and Applications

Category: Functional Materials


National University of Singapore, Singapore

Ben Zhong TANG
Hong Kong University of Science and Technology, Hong Kong


Yoshiki CHUJO
Kyoto University, Japan

Andrea PUCCI
University of Pisa, Italy

Youhong TANG
Flinders University, Australia

Deqing ZHANG
Chinese Academy of Sciences, Beijing, China


Prof. Bin LIU
National University of Singapore
Email: cheliub@nus.edu.sg


Symposium Scope

Aggregation-induced emission (AIE) stands for an intriguing phenomenon that a series of non-emissive molecules in solutions are induced to emit strongly in the aggregate or solid state. The weak emission of AIE fluorogens (AIEgens) as molecular species and their bright fluorescence as nanoscopic aggregates differentiate them from conventional organic luminophores and inorganic nanoparticles, making them ideal candidates for optical, electronic, energy and biomedical applications. AIE has been ranked the top 2nd in the research fronts for chemistry and materials science by Thomson Reuters in 2015.

This Symposium will cover the latest development in the field of AIE research, which will focus on:

  1. fluorescent and phosphorescent AIE-based polymers, oligomers and molecules;
  2. advanced AIEgens with stimuli-responsiveness and the related mechanisms;
  3. AIE probes for sensing, imaging and other biomedical applications; and
  4. applications of AIEgens in optoelectronic devices and clean energy.


Proceedings Publication

Selected papers presented in this symposium will be published in a special issue of “Materials Chemistry Frontiers

Uwe H. F. BUNZ, Heidelberg University , Germany
Anthony K. CHEETHAM, University of Cambridge, UK
Seiji SHINKAI, Kyushu University, Japan
Peter STANG, The University of Utah, USA
He TIAN, East China University Of Science And Technology, China


Vandana BHALLA, Guru Nanak Dev University, India
Zhenguo CHI, Sun Yat-sen University, China
Yuping DONG, Beijing Institute of Technology, China
Michiya FUJIKI, Nara Institute of Science and Technology, Japan
Satoru HIROTO, Nagoya University, Japan
Jianli HUA, East China University of Science and Technology, China
Manoj KUMAR, Guru Nanak Dev University, India
Zhen LI, Wuhan University, China
Bin LIU ,National University of Singapore, Singapore
Chao LU, Beijing University of Chemical Technology, China
Yasuhiro MORISAKI, Kwansei Gakuin University, Japan
Thomas J. J. M√úLLER, University of Duesseldorf, Germany
Tsutsumi OSAMU, Ritsumeikan University, Japan
Anjun QIN, South China University of Technology, China
Andrey ROGACH, City University of Hong Kong, Hong Kong
Masaki SHIMIZU, Kyoto Institute of Technology, Japan
Kazuo TANAKA, Kyoto University, Japan
Wenjing TIAN, Jilin University, China
Aijun TONG, Tsinghua University, China
Zhengke WANG, Zhejiang University, China
Wallace W. H. WONG, University of Melbourne, Australia
Shuizhu WU, South China University of Technology, China
Jianping XIE, National University of Singapore, Singapore
Hai-Bo YANG, East China Normal University, China
Yi ZHANG, Sun Yat-sen University, China
Zujin ZHAO, South China University of Technology, China
Ming-Qiang ZHU, Huazhong University of Science and Technology, China



Symposium Supporter